If you searched for A2 Hosting renewal prices recently, you've probably noticed something odd: the A2 Hosting website doesn't exist any more. Visit a2hosting.com/web-hosting/ and you're redirected to hosting.com, a different brand with different plan names and a different product lineup.
That matters because A2 was acquired and rebranded, and a large amount of outdated comparison content is still online. Every guide, coupon page, and review that quotes "Turbo Boost at $6.99" is describing a plan that can no longer be bought.
A2 Hosting no longer operates as a brand. It was acquired and rebranded as hosting.com, and all four legacy plans were retired: Startup→Starter, Drive→Plus, Turbo Boost→Pro, Turbo Max→Max. Any renewal figure you find quoted against "A2 Hosting plans" is describing a product that isn't for sale.
The Official Plan Mapping
hosting.com publishes its own legacy-to-current comparison, which is the authoritative source for what happened to old A2 accounts. Here it is:
| Old A2 Plan | Is Now | Old Intro Price | Current Intro Price | Term |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Startup | Starter | $1.95/mo | $3.99/mo | 36 mo → 1 yr |
| Drive | Plus | $3.95/mo | $3.99/mo | 36 mo → 1 yr |
| Turbo Boost | Pro | $4.95/mo | $6.99/mo | 36 mo → 1 yr |
| Turbo Max | Max | $13.95/mo | $8.99/mo | 36 mo → 1 yr |
Source: hosting.com's official A2 Hosting vs. hosting.com comparison page, verified 30 September 2026. Old A2 intro prices were quoted on 36-month commitments.
The single most consequential change is the last column. A2's headline prices required a three-year commitment paid upfront to unlock. hosting.com reduced that to a one-year term — one third of the lock-in for the best available rate.
What Actually Improved
This was more than a logo swap. hosting.com's own comparison documents substantial changes to what each plan includes:
| Feature | Old A2 (Startup/Drive) | Current hosting.com |
|---|---|---|
| LiteSpeed caching | Not included | Included on all plans |
| NVMe SSD storage | Not included | Included on all plans |
| AMD EPYC CPU | Not included | Included on all plans |
| WAF & malware protection | Not included | Included on all plans |
| RAM published | Not disclosed | 2 / 3 / 6 / 8 GB |
| IOPS published | Not disclosed | 1,024 – 8,192 |
| Storage | "Unlimited" (fair-use capped) | 15 – 100 GB guaranteed |
Two things genuinely got better. First, A2's famous "Turbo" branding was performance-gated — Startup and Drive customers ran on plain Apache with standard SSD. hosting.com made LiteSpeed, NVMe, and AMD EPYC the default on every shared plan. Second, A2 advertised "unlimited" storage against unpublished fair-use caps; hosting.com now publishes hard limits and the underlying IOPS figures.
The storage trade-off is real, though. If you were relying on A2's "unlimited" claim, the equivalent plan today comes with 15–100 GB of guaranteed space. That is a genuine downgrade in headline flexibility, even if it is more honest.
Enter any hosting plan into the free calculator and see your real total cost — with and without renewal hikes.
Why We Won't Publish A Renewal Table Here
Most guides responding to "A2 Hosting renewal price" do one of two things: they publish a table of renewal figures attributed to no one, or they quietly substitute a different host. We're not going to do either, for a specific reason.
hosting.com does not publish renewal rates. Its pricing page shows first-year promotional prices only — currently $2.00, $11.99, and $15.99 for the first year, each labelled "for the 1st year." There is no renewal figure anywhere on the page to cite.
So every renewal number circulating online is somebody's estimate. And those estimates do not agree with each other. For the same current plans, different sites report:
| Current Plan | Renewal Figures Reported | Spread |
|---|---|---|
| Starter | $10.99 · $11.99 · $12.99 · $13.99 | $3.00 / 27% |
| Plus | $12.99 · $13.99 | $1.00 / 8% |
| Pro | $19.99 · $20.99 · $22.99 | $3.00 / 15% |
| Max | $25.99 · $27.99 | $2.00 / 8% |
Aggregated from multiple published hosting.com pricing trackers and reviews, September 2026. These are third-party estimates, not provider-published rates. Where sources conflict, treat any single figure as unreliable.
Two independent sites can publish a renewal figure for the same plan, disagree by 27%, and both be describing reality — because renewal pricing depends on the term length you renew onto, the region you registered in, and any promotion active on your account on the renewal date. One tracker we found listed a 36-month renewal rate; another listed a 12-month rate for the identical plan.
Publishing a confident-looking renewal table here would be inventing precision. A reader budgeting $150/year on a number we can't source would find out we were wrong on their invoice. Your renewal price is knowable exactly — from your own invoice. Use that.
How to Find Your Actual Renewal Price
The reliable number is already in your account. hosting.com states that A2 customers were migrated to the hosting.com platform automatically, and price-increase notices now issue 14 days before your renewal date — a change from the old practice of notifying customers only at the moment of renewal.
- Sign in to your customer account through hosting.com — your old A2 login carries over.
- Open the billing or invoices section and find your current plan's scheduled renewal amount.
- Confirm the term length on that renewal — 12-month and multi-year renewals are priced differently.
- Check whether a promotion is attached to your account. Discounts now apply automatically at checkout rather than through legacy A2 promo codes, which no longer work.
hosting.com's legacy comparison page lists the Starter plan as including one website, while its current pricing page lists Starter as including five. hosting.com itself sells both a standard shared plan and a separate cPanel variant at the same headline prices. Confirm the product on your own order summary rather than relying on either page.
What To Do About It
You're in one of three positions, and each has a clear answer.
If you're happy with the service: stay. The infrastructure genuinely improved — LiteSpeed and NVMe are now standard, the commitment dropped from three years to one, and resource limits are published. Read your actual renewal figure from the panel and budget against it. hosting.com has also stated that its renewal rates come in lower than A2's legacy renewals across every tier.
If your renewal jumped unexpectedly: hosting.com raised prices once in September 2024, describing it as an annual adjustment it had historically made to account for inflation and vendor costs. hosting.com states no prices increased at the time of the rebrand itself. If your increase is larger than you'd expect from a routine adjustment, contact support before the renewal date and ask them to quote the rate and term in writing.
If you want certainty: that's the argument for a host with a price-lock renewal, where the rate is guaranteed flat for the life of the account. For most site owners, the value of that guarantee exceeds the discount from any single promotional price — including the ones still quoted against A2's retired plans.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes. A2 Hosting was acquired and rebranded as hosting.com. Every a2hosting.com address, including the old web hosting pages, now redirects to hosting.com, and existing A2 accounts were migrated onto the hosting.com platform automatically.
The four legacy plans were replaced. Startup became Starter, Drive became Plus, Turbo Boost became Pro, and Turbo Max became Max. hosting.com publishes this mapping on its own comparison page. Your account and data carried over; the plan names did not.
No. hosting.com applies its discounts automatically at checkout rather than through promo codes. Any legacy A2 promotional code you were using should be treated as expired.
If you were on Startup or Drive, quite possibly the opposite. Those plans previously ran without LiteSpeed caching or NVMe storage, both of which are now included on every shared plan. Plans that were already on A2's Turbo tiers kept those features.
hosting.com states that price-adjustment notices now issue 14 days before your renewal date, rather than only at the point of renewal as was previously the case.
Summary: What Changed
| Question | Answer |
|---|---|
| Does A2 Hosting still exist? | No — rebranded as hosting.com |
| Where do I log in? | Your existing account, via hosting.com |
| What replaced Turbo Boost? | Pro |
| Did LiteSpeed/NVMe improve? | Yes — now standard on all plans |
| Did the commitment shrink? | Yes — 36 months to 12 months |
| Is "unlimited" storage still offered? | No — replaced with 15–100 GB guaranteed |
| Are renewal rates published? | No — check your invoice |
If you're still working from an A2 Hosting price guide, treat its numbers as historical. The brand is gone, the plans are retired, and the renewal rate you'll actually pay is the one on your invoice — not the one in a comparison table written before the rebrand.
Free calculator. Compare your current host vs. price-locked alternatives. Takes 30 seconds — no signup needed.